top of page

Peer Gynt in the Hall of the Mountain King

The first lesson I did with the students was Peer Gynt in the Hall of the Mountain King. I shared the story with the students, which they loved, and then had them listen for certain elements of music including tempo, dynamics, and instruments used that were incorporated into Grieg's famous piece. After the piece was over, I had the students sing the "main idea" back to me; we then discussed how the music elements were details that supported that "main idea" or melody. This was a tie in to what the student's are learning in English about main ideas and supporting details. We then listened to the piece a few more times and I had the students draw their interpretation of the story. After the drawings were finished, I had the students answer 3 basic questions about their drawing, allowing for some writing practice.


1.) What do your trolls look like?

2.) What does Peer look like?

3.) What was your favorite part of the story and why?







15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page